2020年4月1日,培德中学(Beatty Secondary School)约30名中四学生有幸获得机会聆听学前教育专业的职业说明会。

在说明会上,学生们得以获悉学前教育的工作范畴,同时了解到学前教育领域工作能有效地锻炼自我的情商与创造力,成为一位富有耐心和积极的人。许多学前教育工作者发现自己在教学活动中经历锤炼,迅速成长,更有热情与耐心培育幼儿。

Beatty Secondary students learn about early childhood education career talk on 1 April 2020

2020年4月1日,新加坡培德中学学生参加《学前教育专业》职业说明会。

此次职业说明会由智源教育学院外联部门的负责人——潘宝爱女士主讲。潘女士在学前教育领域拥有将近35年的行业经验(此处修改不是翻译的问题,而是英文原版就没有表达准确),她与学生们分享了身为学前教育工作者和育幼师的职责与责任,包括如何策划及准备授课内容、教材,营造充满乐趣的学习环境、细致入微地观察学生,以及如何有效地与家长或监护人沟通。

潘女士也分享了孩子们在幼稚园中一天的生活学习流程:早晨,教师们会为抵达幼稚园的幼儿进行晨检。随后教师组织幼儿进行户外活动、玩些小游戏等等。幼儿们也会在幼稚园午休和享用茶点、聆听故事、阅读、学习工艺美术以及进行音乐律动等活动。

一分耕耘一分收获,学前教育职业将根据从业者的学历与经验提供相应待遇。学生同时也了解到,对学前教育工作者而言,更重要的是与时俱进,通过参加培训和进修提升自己。只有这样,教师们才能够更好地适应与融入学前工作。

最后,潘女士向学生们介绍了智源教育学院提供的其中两个课程,分别为《早教新技能资格高级证书ACEY》) – 主要教导婴幼儿培育师护理和教育2到36个月的婴幼儿;以及幼儿保育和教育专业文凭课程(新技能资格课程WSQ-PDECCE)。

Some 30 Secondary 4 students at Beatty Secondary School had the rare opportunity to hear about what the early childhood education offers for a career during a talk on the subject on 1 April 2020.

They learned that many who have chosen early childhood education for their career soon after leaving school have been able to further develop themselves to be patient and positive, and to become more creative and emotionally intelligent.

Many also found that they have become more passionate for working with and nurturing young children.

Beatty Secondary students learn about early childhood education career talk on 1 April 2020

Beatty Secondary students learn about early childhood education career talk on 1 April 2020

The talk was delivered by Ms Lorna Poon, KLCII Corporate Manager, who has more than 35 years of professional experience in pre-school education industry. She shared with the students the responsibilities of educarer and preschool teachers, including planning and preparing teaching materials to implementing learning activities, supervising the children and communicating with parents and guardians.

Ms Poon also walked them through the day of every child in preschool from arrival in the morning to have their health screening, through outdoor activities such as play and game times, to nap and tea times, indoor story-telling, reading, art and craft and music and movement activities.

Although the career offers attractive packages depending on qualification and experience, more importantly the students learned that they had to start with taking the relevant training courses available to equip themselves for the job.

The students were introduced to the WSQ Advanced Certificate in Early Years for educarers looking after children from two months and 3 years old, and the WSQ Professional Diploma in Early Childhood Care & Education for preschool teachers.